Letter from Bulmer 20 April 1880

Page 5 of 8

Transcription - Page 5

Left Column:

and Malukra. She had been
promised to him when he
was young and given to him
on arriving at age. Malukra
was a member of the tribe
living at Tapio on the Darling
+ Nauithero belonged to the
junction of the Darling. I
dare say the Tapio people
were but a division of the
same tribe.
About marriage by capture
I may state that should
a man have taken a woman
he would not be allowed to
marry her unless the she was
of the same class [sic]. A man
would as soon think of
marrying was his own sister
as to take a woman
of the same class.

Right Column:

I remember when I first went
among the Murray blacks. One
of the young men attached himself
to me, he said he we must
be brothers as he was a
Milparra man. I was of course
to be the same. I one day
said to his wife I was John's
brother you are my sister
the idea to her was most
ridiculous. With a laugh
she said no you are my
husband, this shews how
strict they were to keep up
class rules and also that
they would never allow
even a captive maiden
to take a man of her
own class.
About the words you
send, the first you gave
Tarra wurka or

Page 5 of 8

Document Details

Date 20 Apr 1880
Letter From Bulmer, Reverend John
Letter To Howitt, Alfred William
Country Australia
Holding Institution Museums Victoria
Collection Name Alfred W. Howitt Collection
Registration Number XM 82
Medium Letter
Region Gippsland
Locality Lake Tyers
Summary "The letter discusses the region around the junction of the Darling and Murray Rivers. Content also relates to the Gippsland District. Discusses social organisation and marriage laws and customs. Reply to A.W. Howitt's questionnaire and questions relating to language. Also mentions ""Wallace's Australasia"" when speaking of languages."
Physical Description Letter, handwritten in ink. Signed and dated. Three folded sheets, eleven pages. Vertical, red-pencil line through text on three pages. Condition: fair; small tears along central folds; slightly tattered upper edges.